New Light Manager and Deferred Rendering

I haven’t had as much time to work on Ion over the last few days, however I put in a few solid hours of coding today and finished the first version of my light manager. It’s only hooked into the deferred renderer at the moment, since I still need to finish the code that’ll allow the forward render to pull a limited number of lights based on some input factors. At the moment lights can have custom position, color, intensity and a variety of different fall-off equations. I’d like to add support for lens flares and cubemap masks later on, to add some extra visuals.

For the deferred renderer, the light values are stored in a pixel buffer which is passed into the final deferred shader. Unfortunately I’m doing something wrong with glTexSubImage2D and isn’t working properly, so I haven’t been able to add light animation to the system quite yet.

The scene setup I’m using to test things out has 7 lights in it; a white light at the center, four colored lights at the four sides of the cube stack, and then two small, bright lights (pink and cyan) directly next to the stack. I setup the scene to be in a 0-gravity space environment as well, so the effects of the lighting were more obvious. Here are a handful of screenshots of the test scene:

I also recorded a video, however QuickTime dropped the FPS down a bit. In the video each click adds another 6x6x6 group of physics cubes; at the end of the recording there are several thousand floating around. At one point there’s a bit of visual lag since I added several groups in quick succession, and the physics and render loop are tied together. Anyways, here’s the video: http://vimeo.com/28528048.

That’s it!

T

Leave a Reply

